Big Ten Men’s Basketball Postseason Release

• Four Big Ten teams remain alive in the postseason, with Michigan, Purdue and Wisconsin advancing to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament and Illinois moving onto the quarterfinals of the National Invitation Tournament (NIT).

• For the 10th straight year, the Big Ten will send multiple conference teams to the Sweet 16. Michigan advanced to regional semifinal round for the third time in the past five years, Purdue will compete in the Sweet 16 for the first time since 2010 and Wisconsin is making its fourth straight regional semifinal appearance, and its sixth in the past seven years.

• The Big Ten has sent eight teams to the Elite Eight in the last five NCAA Tournaments.

• Michigan, the Big Ten Tournament Champion, enters the Midwest Regional semifinals with an 8-0 record in neutral site games this season, including six postseason wins.

• Over the last 12 years, the Big Ten has sent 10 different teams to the Final Four, including at least one participant in four of the past five years. Illinois and Michigan State advanced to the Final Four in 2005, followed by Ohio State in 2007 and 2012, the Spartans in 2009, 2010 and 2015, Michigan in 2013 and Wisconsin in 2014 and 2015.

• Since 2005, five Big Ten teams have advanced to the NCAA Tournament championship game. Illinois reached the final in 2005, Ohio State played in the 2007 title game, Michigan State reached the national championship game in 2009, Michigan played in the final in 2013 and Wisconsin advanced to the title game in 2015.

• Current Big Ten programs have combined for 51 Final Four appearances, including seven in the last eight seasons.

• Illinois announced former Oklahoma State mentor Brad Underwood as the Fighting Illini’s 18th head men’s basketball coach.

• Purdue’s Caleb Swanigan, the Big Ten Player of the Year, was named a finalist for the Naismith Trophy, presented to the nation’s most outstanding player. Northwestern mentor Chris Collins was named a finalist for the Naismith Coach of the Year award.

• Wisconsin’s Nigel Hayes is the Big Ten’s career active leader in points (1,835) and rebounds (798), while Michigan’s Derrick Walton Jr., is the conference’s active leader in career steals with 145.

• Big Ten teams have won 70 NCAA Tournament games since 2011, the most among all conferences.

• With seven NCAA Tournament participants, this year marked the seventh straight season that the Big Ten had six or more teams in the bracket, including seven participants in 2015 and 2016.

• Michigan’s Derrick Walton Jr., was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Big Ten Tournament, leading a five-member All-Tournament Team. The squad was comprised of Michigan’s Zak Irvin, Walton, and Wisconsin’s  Ethan Happ, Nigel Hayes and Bronson Koenig.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s