Big Ten Announces Women’s Tennis All-Conference Team and Individual Award Winners


Courtesy of the Big Ten Conference

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten announced its women’s tennis All-Conference team and individual award winners on Thursday following the Big Ten Women’s Tennis Tournament. Ohio State’s Francesca Di Lorenzo was named both Player and Freshman of the Year, while Buckeye head coach Melissa Schaub was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Di Lorenzo reels in Player and Freshman of the Year accolades after going 11-0 in Big Ten singles play at the No. 1 position. The unanimous choice as Freshman of the Year has been ranked among the top-five singles players nationally all spring, reaching No. 1 in February. Di Lorenzo guided the Buckeyes to their first Big Ten Championship and first Big Ten Tournament title. This marks the third time than an Ohio State standout has been named Player of the Year and third time a Buckeye has been tabbed Freshman of the Year.

Schaub collects her second Coach of the Year award overall and second in as many seasons after guiding the Buckeyes to an 11-0 record in conference play and their first Big Ten Championship. The 2016 Big Ten Tournament Champions are currently 28-2 on the season and ranked No. 5 in the country. This marks the third time that an Ohio State mentor has earned Coach of the Year laurels, including Schaub’s honor last season and Chuck Merzbacher’s selection in 1999.

Earning consideration on the All-Big Ten team is Illinois’ Louise Kwong, Michigan’s Kate Fahey, Brienne Minor and Ronit Yurovsky, Minnesota’s Caroline Ryba, Northwestern’s Alicia Barnett, Erin Larner and Maddie Lipp, Ohio State’s Gabriella De Santis, Di Lorenzo, Miho Kowase and Anna Sanford, Penn State’s Kimberly-Ann Surin and Wisconsin’s Lauren Chypyha. Both Di Lorenzo and Yurovsky were unanimous selections.

The Big Ten also recognized 14 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.
Player of the Year:
 Francesca Di Lorenzo, Ohio State
Coach of the Year: Melissa Schaub, Ohio State

All-Big Ten Team
Louise Kwong, Illinois
Kate Fahey, Michigan
Brienne Minor, Michigan
Caroline Ryba, Minnesota
Alicia Barnett, Northwestern
Erin Larner, Northwestern
Maddie Lipp, Northwestern
Gabriella De Santis, Ohio State
Miho Kowase, Ohio State
Anna Sanford, Ohio State
Kimberly-Ann Surin, Penn State
Lauren Chypyha, Wisconsin

Unanimous selections in CAPS
Sportsmanship Award Winners
Jade Hilton, Illinois
Sarah McLean, Indiana
Anastasia Reimchen, Iowa
Kristina Hovsepyan, Maryland
Ronit Yurovsky, Michigan
Emily Metcalf, Michigan State
Maja Vujic, Minnesota
Kati Matysova, Nebraska
Alex Chatt, Northwestern
Ferny Angeles Paz, Ohio State
Katharine Whiteaway, Penn State
Natalia Davila, Purdue
Mariam Zein, Rutgers
Ekaterina Stepanova, Wisconsin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s