Big Ten Announces Women’s Lacrosse All-Big Ten Team


Courtesy of the Big Ten Conference

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The 2016 Big Ten women’s lacrosse All-Conference team was announced on Wednesday, with outright Big Ten Champion Maryland and Penn State each claiming a conference-high six selections. The All-Big Ten team was comprised of 21 standouts, including three attack players, three midfielders, three defenders and one goalkeeper, along with 11 at-large selections due to a tie in the coaches’ voting.

The Terrapins’ All-Big Ten honorees include unanimous selections Taylor Cummings, Nadine Hadnagy, Alice Mercer, Zoe Stukenberg, Megan Taylor and Megan Whittle. Top-ranked Maryland enters the Big Ten Tournament with an unblemished 16-0 record.

The Nittany Lions’ All-Big Ten recipients feature Madison Carter, Madison Cyr, Steph Lazo, Jenna Mosketti, Katie O’Donnell and Abby Smucker. Cyr and Smucker were unanimous honorees. Penn State enters the Big Ten Tournament as the No. 2 seed.

Michigan’s Kimberly Coughlan and Madeline Dion were both named to the All-Big Ten team. Dion averaged 1.80 ground balls and 1.40 caused turnovers per game in conference play, while Coughlan scored 2.80 goals per contest in conference games only, which tied for sixth in the Big Ten.

Northwestern saw Kaleigh Craig and Selena Lasota claim All-Big Ten distinction. Craig, who was a unanimous selection, tied for fourth in the Big Ten with 3.00 goals per outing in conference games only, and gathered 2.00 ground balls per game. Lasota scored 18 goals during conference play, which led the Big Ten.

Ohio State’s Cian Dabrowski, Shannon Rosati and Christina Turner earned All-Big Ten honors. Dabrowski tied for second in the Big Ten with 2.94 goals per contest in all games, while Rosati and Turner combined to scoop up 28 ground balls and cause 12 turnovers as anchors of the the Buckeyes’ midfield.

Amanda Casten and Kristina Dunphey represented Rutgers on the All-Big Ten team. Casten ranked second in the Big Ten with 2.20 ground balls per game in conference games only, while Dunphey’s 2.80 goals per outing in Big Ten play was tied for sixth.

The Big Ten also announced six Sportsmanship Award Honorees. The players chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the students must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. This season’s honorees are Maryland’s Annie Lynch, Michigan’s Emily Braun, Northwestern’s Craig, Ohio State’s Rainey Hodgson, Penn State’s Mosketti and Rutgers’ Joanna Reilly.

The complete list of All-Conference honorees is attached. The Attack Player, Midfielder, Defensive Player and Goaltender of the Year, along with the Freshman and Coach of the Year, will be announced on Monday, May 9 following the conclusion of the Big Ten Tournament.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s