Big Ten | Three Big Ten Teams to Compete in NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship


Courtesy of the Big Ten Conference

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Michigan, Northwestern and Ohio State will represent the Big Ten at the NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship. The Buckeyes received an automatic bid to the championship after winning the Big Ten Tournament.

Michigan makes its 14th-consecutive appearance in the NCAA Championship, and 18th appearance overall. The 10th-seeded Wolverines will host Ball State in the opening match. The winner will advance to take on Kentucky or Xavier in the second round.

Northwestern earned its 27th berth to the national tournament. The Wildcats will travel to Chapel Hill, N.C., to take on Ole Miss in the first round, with the victor advancing to play the winner of the North Carolina and East Tennessee State match.

Ohio State makes its 13th appearance in the NCAA Championship. The fourth-seeded Buckeyes will host Youngstown State, with the winner facing either UCLA or Notre Dame in the second round.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 13-15 at campus sites. Subsequent rounds will be played at the Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Okla., from May 19-24.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s